“Let Jesus Fix What’s Broken”

dose

So, in honesty, I know absolutely nothing about cars! More than likely, I couldn’t change a headlight if it would spare my own life! And that’s okay, if nothing else, at least I can admit it! However, my dad was a different story altogether! My dad was the epitome of what you’d call a “grease monkey”! He left the house in the morning covered in grease, and he returned home in the evening the very same way! You see, my dad was a mechanic, and he worked on every type of vehicle known to man. And even when he wasn’t working, he was still working! Meaning, even when he’d get home from work, nine times out of ten, someone was driving up to see my dad about a problem with their car. They would drive up, park the car, then explain to “JJ Miles Joe” what they thought the problem was. Now, could you imagine if someone drove up, parked their car, told dad what they thought was wrong with the car and then said, “thanks Joe for listening, I’m sure the car is all better now.Well of course not, because even though they’ve TOLD him what was wrong with the car, the bottom line is, he is the expert, not them. Which means they need to TRUST their car to him and leave it with him to work on and solve the car problem in the best way he knows how, since this is after all his field of expertise!

Well, I’ve come to find out, that as Children of God, we unfortunately function just like that!

We bring our problem to our Father, explain to Him what we think is wrong, and then we pick up the problem we’ve laid at the altar and carry it right back home! And sadly enough, we’ll sit up all night long worried about this same problem and wondering why God hasn’t fixed it yet! I guess somewhat like my dad the mechanic, with the car that drove away, if you don’t leave what’s broken with him/Him, how does it get fixed?

That parable made me think of Luke 7 beginning at verse 2:A certain Centurion’s servant, whom his master valued highly, was sick and about to die. The Centurion heard of Jesus and sent some elders of the Jews to him, asking him to come and heal his servant. When they came to Jesus, they pleaded earnestly with Him.

Now at this point they’re TELLING Jesus about the problem just like people would tell my dad the mechanic about their car’s problem. And just like some of my dad’s clients drove some pretty expensive cars, this parable speaks of a servant that was found to be just as valuable.

Jesus responds and the Centurion sends a message back and says, “‘I did not even consider myself worthy to come to you. But say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, “Go,” and he goes; and that one, “Come,” and he comes. I say to my servant, “Do this,” and he does it.’ When Jesus heard this, he was amazed at him, and turning to the crowd following him He said, ‘I tell you, I have not found such great faith even in Israel.’ Then the men who had been sent returned to the house and found the servant well.

Look at those words, “such great faith.” Now, why does Jesus say that? Well, see, this Centurion didn’t just TELL Jesus about the problem. He didn’t just bring it to His attention. He TRUSTED Jesus with it totally. That’s why he got the miracle he needed.

In essence, it wouldn’t do any good if people came to my dad the mechanic and told him about their car problems. The point is, they had to leave their car in his hands; they’ve got to turn it over to him. And the reason they could leave their car with him (no matter how valuable it was) was because they TRUSTED the one they took it to. He’s proven he knows exactly how to fix what’s broken! And by the way, so has Jesus!

Truth is, maybe you’re looking at a problem or a need that really needs the touch of God right now. Well, might I say for lack of a better term, “He’s the Master Mechanic” who can fix what’s broken! He’s the ultimate fixer! You say, “Well, you don’t know how hard, long and often I’ve prayed about it!” And to be honest, that may just be your problem! “You’ve prayed so much about it.” But have you left it with Him? You TOLD Him, but have you TRUSTED Him?

Notice the Centurion said, “Just say the word and it will be done.” See, great faith recognizes the total authority of Jesus over this impossible situation and acts as if it’s totally in Jesus’ hands. He’s the Lord of the outcome. He’ll decide the outcome. That’s great faith. And that’s how you are to exercise your faith when you pray about someone or something. Approach God in prayer like this: “Lord, if you say ‘come’ it will come. If you say ‘go’ it will go. If you say ‘do this’ it will be done.” I trust You completely!

But unfortunately, that’s not how a lot of us handle prayer! No, we’d rather keep crying and complaining, “Lord, my husband, my wife, my children, my job, my business, my career, my school, my church, my ministry, my finances, my health, my home, my car, my bills…” Well, when do you plan to stop TALKING to Him about it, and finally TRUST Him with it?! By the way, that means you have to trust Him fully! In other words, can you imagine if someone had a problem with their car, they bring it to my dad the mechanic to fix, they explain to him what’s wrong, and this time, they don’t drive off with the car, but they stay there with it! And every 2 minutes they lean over his shoulder and ask, “Is it fixed yet? Are you done yet? Can I drive it yet? Is it better yet?No, my friend, that’s not trust either! When you know that you’re leaving it (whatever your ‘it’ is) with the one who can fix it, then why are you doubting, questioning, worrying, fretting, fearing, and pacing the floor for hours on end? He knows what He’s doing, why not rest yourself, and trust Him to fix what’s broken in His time and in His way?

Matthew 11:28-30, “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (MSG)

You need to learn how to rest in God, and let Him repair things in your life! God is inviting you to walk, work and even rest with Him, and yet you’re still stressed, tired, worn out, burned out and frustrated! And God is saying spend some time with Me and you’ll learn how to live free and light! I don’t know about you, but if God wants all my stress, so I can recover some joy and peace, I’m giving it to Him! In fact, I will wrap it up like a Christmas present, with a bow on top! Why? Because I can trust Him with all that’s troubling me!

So a good question to ask yourself is, have I moved from TALKING to God about it to really TRUSTING Him with it?

Proverbs 3:5-12, “TRUST God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all. Run to God! Run from evil! Your body will glow with health, your very bones will vibrate with life!” (MSG)

And all you have to do to enjoy a vibrant, healthy and full life is TRUST GOD…so what are you waiting for? What’s so hard? Because you do know that He is able to handle even the hard thing…right?

Jeremiah 32:27, “I am the Lord, the God of all living things! Is anything too hard for me?” (CEB)

Now, if God is the Lord of all living things, what do we have to worry about? There is nothing and no one that operates outside of His control, so why are our emotions so out of control every time we go through a storm, struggle or trial? There is NOTHING too hard for God’s hands to handle! So take your hands off!

Genesis 18:14, “Is anything too hard for God? Next year, just as I told you, I will certainly see to it that Sarah has a son.” (TLB) There are 2 wonderful points to take note of here: First, “…JUST AS I TOLD YOU…” Isn’t it wonderful to know that God can’t lie and can’t fail? What was to be done in Sarah’s life was to be done just as the Lord said! Therefore, take heart beloved and take courage, the Lord has not forgotten about you! What He SAID you will SEE! And secondly, “…I WILL CERTAINLY SEE TO IT…” That’s Personal! God Himself said, you don’t have to worry about what I said, I will see that it comes to pass, and I need absolutely no assistance from you at all in making that happen! You just wait, watch and see! If that doesn’t encourage you, it certainly encouraged me! Me and my future are so important to God, that He’s personally seeing that His Word and Promise comes true in my life…and yours! Now, that’s worth celebrating, rejoicing and praising!

Listen to Jeremiah 1:12 in these varying translations:

“…I’ll make every word I give you come true.” (MSG);

“…for I am [actively] watching over My word to fulfill it.” (AMP);

“…I’m watching over my word until it is fulfilled.” (CEB);

“…I always rise early to keep a promise.” (CEV);

“…I am watching to make sure that my message to you comes true.” (ERV);

“…I am watching over my word to perform it.” (ESV);

“…I am watching to see that my words come true.” (GNT);

“…I am ready to perform My word.” (NKJV);

“…I am watching to see that My Word is completed.” (NLV);

“…I am watching and I will certainly carry out all my plans.” (NLT)

Does that sound like Someone you can’t trust?! He’s not even asking you to participate in this! He not once said, “WE”! No, God said I will do this! I will make this come true; I will fulfill it; I’ll make sure; I’m watching; I’ll perform; I’ll complete it! So why are YOU stressed out?!

When Jesus has the problem, you don’t have it any more! When you tell Jesus about it, you walk in all bent over carrying this big load, but you walk out of that Throne Room… still bent over? NO! When you’ve really trusted Him with it, you walk in bent over, but you walk out standing tall because you left your load in Jesus’ capable hands! Relax in His total authority over your situation. Exercise that faith that brings down the supernatural; such great faith it is indeed!

It’s like the old song says, “I must TELL Jesus all of my troubles.” But today, let’s upgrade that to, “I must TRUST Jesus with all of my troubles.

1 Peter 5:7, “casting ALL your cares [ALL your anxieties, ALL your worries, and ALL your concerns, once and for ALL] on Him, for He cares about you [with deepest affection, and watches over you very carefully].” (AMP)

In case you didn’t catch it, the key word is “ALL!” So, stop giving God what you think He can handle, and give Him everything, because there is nothing too hard for the hands of God to handle! There is absolutely nothing so broken that He cannot fix, mend, heal, revive, restore, rescue, redeem or resuscitate!

Psalm 34:18, “The Lord is near to the heartbroken and He saves those who are crushed in spirit (contrite in heart, truly sorry for their sin).” (AMP)

Psalm 73:26, “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the rock and strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (AMP)

John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you; My [perfect] peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be afraid. [Let My perfect peace calm you in every circumstance and give you courage and strength for every challenge.]” (AMP)

Psalm 18:2, “The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and the One who rescues me; My God, my rock and strength in whom I trust and take refuge; My shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower—my stronghold.” (AMP)

John 16:33, “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace. In the world you have tribulation and distress and suffering, but be courageous [be confident, be undaunted, be filled with joy]; I have overcome the world.” [My conquest is accomplished, My victory abiding.]” (AMP)

Philippians 4:19, “And my God will liberally supply (fill until full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” (AMP)

And my absolute favorite: Philippians 4:6-7, “Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.” (MSG)

And that my friend, is the God you serve! So today, make the deliberate decision to stop TALKING to Him only, and start TRUSTING Him too! He has your very best interest at heart, at all times. Saints, don’t be an “indian giver”, tell Him your problems, then take them back, tell Him your problems, then take them back! NO! That’s why they’re still broken! Leave them with Him!

Psalm 147:3, “He heals their broken hearts and bandages their wounds.” (ERV)

People of God, let God fix what’s broken! Stop trying to do it yourself, stop trusting in the arm of flesh that will fail you every time. Trust God. He has more than proven Himself to have great plans for your life! And even when you allow those plans to become marred in His hands, just stay in His hands, and watch Him make something beautiful still!

Jeremiah 29:10-11, “This is God’s Word on the subject…I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home. I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.” (MSG)

Jeremiah 18:4, “Whenever a clay pot he was working on was ruined, he would rework it into a new clay pot the way he wanted to make it.” (GWT); Another translation reads, “He was making a pot from clay. But there was something wrong with the pot. So the potter used that clay to make another pot. With his hands he shaped the pot the way he wanted it to be.” (ERV).

My favorite translation is: “So I went to the potter’s house, and sure enough, the potter was there, working away at his wheel. Whenever the pot the potter was working on turned out badly, as sometimes happens when you are working with clay, THE POTTER WOULD SIMPLY START OVER AND USE THE SAME CLAY TO MAKE ANOTHER POT.” (MSG) How awesome that as bad as our situation can get, God can still use THE SAME SITUATION and make it good!

Genesis 50:19-21, “Joseph replied, “Don’t be afraid. Do I act for God? Don’t you see, you planned evil against me BUT GOD USED THOSE SAME PLANS FOR MY GOOD, as you see all around you right now—life for many people. Easy now, you have nothing to fear; I’ll take care of you and your children.” He reassured them, speaking with them heart-to-heart.” (MSG) Here’s some more good news: Even if what you’re struggling with wasn’t your fault, it still doesn’t matter! God can still use even the same plans of enemies, haters, and Satan, and make what was bad turn out for your Good! There’s not one problem you will ever face that God doesn’t already have a plan in place to take care of it!

Romans 8:28, “…That’s why we can be so sure that EVERY DETAIL in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.” (MSG). Did you catch that? EVERY DETAIL GOD WORKS FOR OUR GOOD! There is absolutely nothing going on in your life that God’s Hands can’t Handle! He’s involved in EVERY DETAIL of our lives! Whether it’s a bruise; a scratch; a hair-line fracture or a complete break; GOD CAN FIX EVERY DETAIL OF IT!

So, how about we make today the day that we drive it to Jesus and then leave it there for Him to fix?!

After all, He’s already promised, IT’S GOING TO BE GOOD!

“Sometimes God lets you be in a situation that only He can fix, so you will discover that He is the one who can fix it.” (Tony Evans)

“Men and women will never find a significant other who completes them. A fling, a fantasy, a boyfriend or girlfriend – even a spouse – is not going to satisfy what has gone wrong in you. Only Jesus will do that. Because your heart is broken. You need a Savior, and no one person can fix it.” (Matt Chandler) 

“Broken things can become Blessed things if you let God do the mending.” (Author Unknown) 

“God will mend your broken heart if you give Him all the pieces.” (Author Unknown) 

“God doesn’t break things so He can fix them; He fixes broken things so He can use them.” (Bob Goff) 

“There is something you can’t fix, can’t heal, or can’t escape, and all you can do is trust God. Finding ultimate refuge in God means you become so immersed in His presence, so convinced of His goodness, so devoted to His lordship that you find even the cave is a perfectly safe place to be because He is there with you.” (John Ortberg)

“We all go through hard times. But do we try to fix our own problems or do we trust God that He can fix them.” (Brandon Harrison) 

“We can’t always fix our circumstances, but we can fix our minds on God.” (Lysa Terkeurst) 

“Dear Lord, help me to fix my eyes on You each day so I can walk in your hope, peace, joy and beauty.” (Gwen Smith) 

“Are we reaching up for the powerful hand of God or are we holding tightly to a problem that will only pull us down?” (Diane K. Chamberlain) 

“Life doesn’t allow for us to go back and fix what we have done wrong in the past, but it does allow for us to live each day better than our last.” (Simple Reminders) 

“Broken things and broken people are the result of sin. Yet God sent His Son to be broken that we might be healed.” (Author Unknown) 

“If we can’t face it, God can’t fix it.” (Catherine Austin Fitts) 

“Worry is a form of arrogance, who am I to think I can fix my problems without God.” (Kirk Franklin) 

“The Bible never once says, “Figure it out,” but over and over it says, “Have Faith.” God already has it all figured out!” (Dave Willis)

Much Love, Dr. Shermaine #EnjoyTheRead #BeInspired #BeEncouraged #BeEmpowered #BeChallenged #ShareTheWord

Feel free to also join us at: http://www.selfcarewithdrshermaine.blogspot.com Today’s Lesson: “Improving Your Foot Health”

Feel free to join us at: http://www.chefshermainesbiblecafe.home.blog Today’s Chef Special Word “DANCING!”

LETS STAY CONNECTED!
Daily Dose With Dr. Shermaine: https://dailydosewithdrshermaine.wordpress.com
Facebook:  DrShermaine Franklin-Sanders
Instagram: dr_sys
LinkedIn:  Linkedin.com/in/dr-shermaine-y-franklin-sanders910019142/
Twitter: Dr_Shermaine
Pinterest: drsys321
Google: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+DrShermaineYFranklinSanders

Leave a comment