“Trust God…Even in the Dark”

dose

“Who is among you who fears the Lord, Who obeys the voice of His Servant, Yet who walks in DARKNESS and has no light? Let him TRUST and be confident in the name of the LORD and let him rely on his GOD.” (Isaiah 50:10 AMP).

You were promised the Peace of God, but not smooth sailing, immunity or exemption from life’s problems! Which is why Jesus Himself admonishes you with these words: “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have TRIBULATION and TRIALS and DISTRESS and FRUSTRATION; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]” (John 16:33 AMP). In other words, you will experience Tribulation, Trials, Distress and Frustration, but it will NOT Overcome you no matter how Overwhelmed you may feel!

However, you WILL experience it nonetheless!

According to our text in another translation, the Bible says this: “Who is among you who [reverently] fears the Lord, who obeys the voice of His Servant, yet who walks in DARKNESS AND DEEP TROUBLE and has no shining splendor [in his heart]? Let him rely on, trust in, and be confident in the name of the Lord, and let him lean upon and be supported by his God.” (AMPC) I’m certain that is the testimony of many of you, “…fearing the Lord…YET…walking in darkness and deep trouble…” However, I encourage you to rest assured that you are NOT the only one who shares this testimony!

Let’s see some examples:

1…JOB—lived an exemplary life yet he lost everything! Troubled and perplexed, he cried, “God has blocked my way so I cannot move. He has plunged my path into darkness.” (19:8 NLT).

2…JEREMIAH – after preaching to a rebellious people who beat and imprisoned him, said, “I wish that my eyes were fountains of tears, so I could cry day and night for my people…” (9:1 CEV).

3…JOHN THE BAPTIST—was puzzled about why Jesus, who could raise the dead, had left him to languish in prison. So he sent Him a message asking, “…are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?” (Luke 7:19 NIV).

4…PAUL—suffered so much he “…despaired even of life.” (2 Corinthians 1:8). Or better stated by The Message Bible, “We don’t want you in the dark, friends, about how hard it was when all this came down on us…It was so bad we didn’t think we were going to make it. We felt like we’d been sent to death row, that it was all over for us…” (vss. 8-11).

5…NAOMI – was so bitter in soul, that she renamed herself bitter. “But she said, “Don’t call me Naomi; call me Bitter. The Strong One has dealt me a bitter blow. I left here full of life, and God has brought me back with nothing but the clothes on my back. Why would you call me Naomi? God certainly doesn’t. The Strong One ruined me.” (Ruth 1:20-21 MSG)

6…DAVID – did not bite his tongue at all when addressing God about how he felt. “Long enough, God – you’ve ignored me long enough. I’ve looked at the back of your head long enough. Long enough I’ve carried this ton of trouble, lived with a stomach full of pain. Long enough my arrogant enemies have looked down their noses at me.” (Psalm 13:1-2 MSG)

7…ELIJAH – simply wanted to die! When Elijah saw how things were, he ran for dear life to Beersheba, far in the south of Judah. He left his young servant there and then went on into the desert another day’s journey. He came to a lone broom bush and collapsed in its shade, wanting in the worst way to be done with it all—to just die: “Enough of this, God! Take my life—I’m ready to join my ancestors in the grave!” Exhausted, he fell asleep under the lone broom bush…” (1 Kings 19:3-5 MSG)

8…MOSES – was under such distress, He even asked God to erase him out of His book! “Moses went back to God and said, “This is terrible. This people has sinned – it’s an enormous sin! They made gods of gold for themselves. And now, if you will only forgive their sin…But if not, erase me out of the book you’ve written.” (Exodus 32:32 MSG)

9…JESUS – even asked a question many of us ask of our Father. “From noon to three, the whole earth was dark. Around mid-afternoon Jesus groaned out of the depths, crying loudly, “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you abandoned me?” (Matthew 27:45-46 MSG)

People of God, in a nutshell: Faith is like film; it’s developed in the DARK! Yet you can take heart because you share the ‘DARK ROOM’ with some great men and women who experienced the same struggles and yet still overcame them and succeeded! Job, Jeremiah, John, Paul, Naomi, David, Elijah, Moses and even Jesus all spent time in the Dark Room developing into images of strength and endurance for us to admire and become!

You see, dark days are purposed to make you lean on God in ways you normally wouldn’t! The truth is, if your faith was never tested you wouldn’t be motivated to pursue God and draw closer to Him! The hymn writer wrote it best: “When darkness seems to hide His face, I rest on His unchanging grace. When all around my soul gives way, He then is all my hope and stay. On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.

Think about it: It’s easy to praise God when your health is good, your bills are paid, your kids are well-behaved, your marriage is back in the honeymoon phase, you got the job you weren’t even qualified for, the school gave you the grant, the car is running like its brand new etc… But it’s a completely different story told when light suddenly turns to darkness that you discover what your faith is really made of and where your trust truly lies. The Bible says it like this: “Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when TESTS and CHALLENGES come at you FROM ALL SIDES. You know that UNDER PRESSURE, YOUR FAITH-LIFE IS FORCED INTO THE OPEN AND SHOWS ITS TRUE COLORS. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you can become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.” (James 1:2-4 MSG). Saints, I know the Tests and Challenges Coming From All Sides doesn’t feel all that great, but it challenges, tests, stretches and strengthens your faith. In the words of the Apostle Paul: “So, my son, throw yourself into this work for Christ. Pass on what you heard from me—the whole congregation saying Amen!—to reliable leaders who are competent to teach others. WHEN THE GOING GETS ROUGH, TAKE IT ON THE CHIN WITH THE REST OF US, THE WAY JESUS DID. A soldier on duty doesn’t get caught up in making deals at the marketplace. He concentrates on carrying out orders. An athlete who refuses to play by the rules will never get anywhere. It’s the diligent farmer who gets the produce. Think it over. God will make it all plain.” (2 Timothy 2:1-7 MSG)

Therefore, I agree, the tests, trials, challenges, frustrations, rough times and tough seasons can weary you, however, you have to remember the reason you don’t allow your weariness to overwhelm you to the point you quit:Let’s not get tired of doing good, because in time we’ll have a harvest if we don’t give up.” (Galatians 6:9 CEB).

Therefore, I encourage you my brothers and sisters to continue to press on, because there’s a prize at the end of the pressure!Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I PRESS TOWARD THE MARK FOR THE PRIZE OF THE HIGH CALLING OF GOD IN CHRIST JESUS.” (Philippians 3:12-14). I Challenge You to Let the Pressure, Press You and Push You to attain Possession of Your Prize!

Now, to Developing Night Vision!

In our dark seasons of struggle, stress and strife, sometimes God doesn’t tell us WHY because He wants us to know WHO! In Psalm 23, David goes from talking ABOUT God, “The Lord is my Shepherd…” (vs. 1) to talking WITH God, “…Thou art with me…” (vs. 4). So what happened in between? David learned that no matter how dark the way is, the Lord is there to guide us, “…He leadeth me beside…still waters…He leadeth me in…paths of righteousness…” (vss. 2-3). He discovered that it’s better to walk through the valley with God than stand on the mountaintop without Him! Church, if you haven’t reached this level of faith and trust in God, keep stretching! It’s mandatory that you reach it! Practice talking like David!

Psalm 23 – “God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, You find me quiet pools to drink from. True to Your word, You let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when You walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure. You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing. Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I’m back home in the house of God for the rest of my life.” (MSG)

David learned something that we all need to learn, especially when traveling through the dark and even death valley’s of life. He learned to trust God even when he couldn’t trace Him. Why? Because God is a covenant keeper of His Word, and His Word has made you promises that will not fail! And those promises hold true even when God doesn’t immediately light the path for your way out of darkness. “When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” (Isaiah 43:2). The Message Bible says it like this: “…Don’t be afraid, I’ve redeemed you. I’ve called your name. You’re mine. When you’re in over your head, I’ll be there with you. When you’re in rough waters, you will not go down. When you’re between a rock and a hard place, it won’t be a dead end – Because I am God, your personal God, The Holy of Israel, your Savior. I paid a huge price for you: all of Egypt, with rich Cush and Seba throw in! That’s how much I love you! I’d sell off the whole world to get you back, trade the creation just for you.” (vss. 1-4 MSG)

Does that sound like you’re walking in the dark alone? I think not!

Family, when you feel like you’re out in the depth or in over your head, claim the Isaiah 43:2 promise and let it be a light of hope in your dark season! Remember, no matter how dark your road gets, Faith can do more for your vision than Pearle Vision and Lens Crafters combined! Increase your faith so your doubt doesn’t cause you to miss God in the dark! 2 Corinthians 5:7, “(For we walk by faith, not by sight.” The Message Bible says it like this: That’s why we live with such good cheer. You won’t see us drooping our heads or dragging our feet! Cramped conditions here don’t get us down. They only remind us of the spacious living conditions ahead. It’s what we trust in but don’t yet see that keeps us going. Do you suppose a few ruts in the road or rocks in the path are going to stop us? When the time comes, we’ll be plenty ready to exchange exile for homecoming.” (MSG)

That’s the kind of faith that keeps your focus on point!

Listen: Job had many unanswered questions, but when he began to understand the difference between REASON and RELATIONSHIP, he told God in Job 42:5, “I had heard of You [only] by hearing of the ear, But now my [spiritual] eye sees You.” (AMP). The Message Bible says it like this, “Job answered God: “I’m convinced: You can do anything and everything. Nothing and no one can upset your plans. You asked, ‘Who is this muddying the water, ignorantly confusing the issue, second-guessing my purposes?’ I admit it. I was the one. I babbled on about things far beyond me, made small talk about wonders way over my head. You told me, ‘Listen, and let me do the talking. Let me ask the questions. You give the answers.’ I admit I once lived by rumors of You; now I have it all firsthand—from my own eyes and ears! I’m sorry—forgive me. I’ll never do that again, I promise! I’ll never again live on crusts of hearsay, crumbs of rumor. (MSG)

Job teaches us that when you can’t find the REASON, simply trust the RELATIONSHIP! God won’t fail you! Even when you act like Sarai and try to help Him out with your own back-up plan; or like Job, you try to foolishly speak on God’s behalf, yet God remains in His relationship to us and with us, regardless of our poor judgment in trying to find our own light in the dark. In fact, Job’s relationship is deepened because in his own words, he only lived on rumors about God, but now after trusting Him through a dark season, he can now say, I have firsthand knowledge of God with my own eyes and ears. He no longer needed anyone to tell him about God, he learned of God from God! And what’s one of the lessons Job learned? You can trust God with everything, even when a dark season leaves you with nothing!

But, there is something else you should know about darkness and that is: Contrary to what you may think, DARKNESS isn’t always the work of the enemy! In actuality, it’s often God’s best teaching tool! Listen to the Bible: “LATE AT NIGHT, the boat was far out at sea; Jesus was still by himself on land. He could see his men struggling with the oars, the wind having come up against them. At about four o’clock in the morning, Jesus came toward them walking on the sea. He intended to go right by them. But when they saw him walking on the sea, they thought it was a ghost and screamed, scared out of their wits. Jesus was quick to comfort them: “Courage! It’s me. Don’t be afraid.” As soon as he climbed into the boat, the wind died down. They were stunned, shaking their heads, wondering what was going on. They didn’t understand what he had done at the supper. None of this had yet penetrated their hearts.” (Mark 6:48-52 MSG).

Truth is, you get to know the Lord by going through storms WITH Him! Yes, it was “LATE AT NIGHT”, but aren’t you glad your GOD still works the NIGHT SHIFT?!

The Psalmist said, “EVEN THE DARKNESS WILL NOT BE DARK TO YOU; THE NIGHT WILL SHINE LIKE THE DAY, FOR DARKNESS IS AS LIGHT TO YOU” (139:12 NIV). So instead of running from your problems, ask God to develop your night vision, and when He does, remember He promised to “…GIVE YOU TREASURES HIDDEN IN DARK AND SECRET PLACES…” (Isaiah 45:3 CEV).

Remember, just because your situation is too dark for you, doesn’t mean it will EVER be too dark for God!

Now to take it just a little step further, when the darkness you’re experiencing is God-Ordained, don’t try to create your own light! The Bible says, “…walk in the light of the fires YOU HAVE SET. But with his own hand, the LORD WILL PUNISH YOU AND MAKE YOU SUFFER” (Isaiah 50:11 CEV). Attempting to light your own way, will only lead to further, and might I add, Unnecessary, suffering! For example: Abraham And Sarah decided to kindle their own fire when God’s promise of an heir didn’t materialize quickly enough. So they ended up with Ishmael, and ended up creating problems that would last for generations!

Therefore, Never Attempt to Make Decisions In the Dark! All You Need to do is See, Hear and Trust God!

NEVER Attempt to Make Your Own Light in Your Dark Seasons!

As a matter of fact, when you’re in darkness, by divine design, simply recall these great promises:

“Light arises in…darkness for the upright…” (Psalm 112:4 AMP); and “…weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.” (Psalm 30:5). Your dark seasons will not last always, but while they are here, trust God in the dark as though it were already light! Remember: He’s God in the Mountains and the Valley’s alike! Listen: The forty days Moses spent alone on the mountain, Elijah’s stay on Mt. Horeb, and Paul’s years in the Arabian Desert weren’t wasted experiences; they were all part of God’s plan! Likewise, darkness can’t detour your destiny! Simply Develop Your Night Vision and See the Great Treasures God Has In Store For You…Surely that will Lighten Your Dark Places…for it’s often in our Dark Seasons when we See God Brighter than ever before!

Learn to Develop Night Vision So You Can Learn to Trust God Even in the Dark!

“To trust God in the light is nothing, but trust Him in the dark…that’s faith.” (C.H. Spurgeon)

“Trust God in the dark, until the light returns.” (Aiden Wilson Tozer)

“Never doubt in the dark what God has shown you in the light.” (Author Unknown)

“When a train goes through a tunnel and it gets dark, you don’t throw away the ticket and jump off. You sit still and trust the engineer. Trust God today no matter how dark your situation. God says, ‘you are coming out!’” (Christine Caine)

“When you trust God to fulfill the promises He’s given you, all the forces of darkness cannot stop God from bringing your dreams to pass.” (Author Unknown)

“I would sooner walk in the dark, and hold hard to a promise of my God, than trust in the light of the brightest day that ever dawned.” (Charles Spurgeon)

“Heavenly Father, I may not understand how everything will work out, but I trust You. I don’t see a away, but I know You will make a way. I have faith at this very moment You are touching hearts, opening doors, and lining up the right breaks and right opportunities. Things may look dark and bleak now, but I have faith that my dawn is coming! In Jesus’ name.” (Author Unknown)

“It is the easiest thing in the world to obey God when He commands us to do what we like, and to trust Him when the path is all sunshine. The real victory of faith is to trust God in the dark, and through the dark.” (Theodore L. Cuyler)

“Trusting God when the miracle does not come, when the urgent prayer gets no answer, when there is only darkness – this is the kind of faith God values perhaps most of all. This is the kind of faith that can be developed and displayed only in the midst of difficult circumstances. This is the kind of faith that cannot be shaken because it is the result of having already been shaken.” (Nancy Gutherie)

“Confession is the statement of truth based on the ‘WORD’. You might be in the night season of your life but don’t allow it to change your confession. You have to trust God in the darkness with what He told you in the light. Keep declaring His Word till your change manifests. The Word of God Never Fails and Never Lies.” (Author Unknown)

“It takes faith to trust God in times of trouble, especially when the boat you’re in is being tossed to and fro in the dark.” (Rosa Watson)

“True worship doesn’t put on a show or make a fuss; true worship isn’t forced, isn’t half-hearted, doesn’t keep looking at its watch, doesn’t worry what the person in the next pew is doing. True worship is open to God, adoring God, waiting for God, trusting God…even in the dark.” (N.T. Wright)

“It is not my responsibility in what form God answers my questions for guidance. That, is quite safe in His hands. The only thing that I know is that God is light, and not darkness. Those who trust Him, He does not leave in darkness. He is a very, very good shepherd.” (Corrie ten Boom)

“Faith is the bird that feels the light when the dawn is still dark.” (Rabindranath Tagore)

“The tiny Seed knew that in order to Grow it needed to be Dropped in Dirt, Covered in Darkness, and Struggle to Reach the Light.” (Author Unknown)

“Hope is being able to see that there is light despite all the darkness.” (Desmond Tutu)

“The ultimate test of faith is not how loudly you praise God in happy times but how deeply you trust Him in dark times.” (Rick Warren)

Much Love, Dr. Shermaine #EnjoyTheRead #BeInspired #BeEncouraged #BeEmpowered #BeChallenged #ShareTheWord

Feel free to also join us at: http://www.selfcarewithdrshermaine.blogspot.com Today’s Lesson: “The 50 Best Weight Loss Foods of All Time”

Feel free to join us at: http://www.chefshermainesbiblecafe.home.blog Today’s Chef Special Word “MANIFEST”

LETS STAY CONNECTED!
Daily Dose With Dr. Shermaine: https://dailydosewithdrshermaine.wordpress.com
Facebook:  DrShermaine Franklin-Sanders
Instagram: dr_sys
LinkedIn:  Linkedin.com/in/dr-shermaine-y-franklin-sanders910019142/
Twitter: Dr_Shermaine
Pinterest: drsys321
Google: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+DrShermaineYFranklinSanders